Dinner in 3 Minutes..

Sort of.

It’s no secret that being able to stay on track all week does require some added effort somewhere along the line.  Fortunately, it’s up to you to choose when you decide to dedicate some time to preparation.  Personally, Sunday nights are best for this kind of stuff but if Wednesday mornings work better, that works too!

Having a go-to meal that requires little time when you are actually ready to eat means you have less reason to order takeout or eat whatever junk might be lying around.

Case in point: last Thursday night.  After a few post work drinks with colleagues, I definitely was not in the mood for cooking.  Luckily, 2 weeks ago I made a gigantic batch of black bean burgers*.  And by gigantic I am talking 30 – 35 patties.  That extra time in the kitchen on a lazy Sunday night, however, has already paid off.  They work just as well as a burger as they do on top of salads, in a pita or all on their own.  I’ve even eaten them with breakfast instead of bacon!

So once I got home, I defrosted and heated up two of the patties (topped with some cheese of course), placed on an opened pita and served with some more frozen french cut green beans.

Simple yet satisfying.  Can’t beat that.

*Black Bean Burgers:

Store bought black bean or veggie burgers are also great to keep on hand but I do try and make my own when I can.  Not only can I control the flavor & nutritional content, but the whole batch of burgers only cost me around $4.00.  You would need to spend around $30.00 if you wanted so many pre-made burgers.  That said, my favorites include the Morningstar Spicy Black Bean Burgers or their Portobello Mushroom Burgers.

I am still working on the detailed recipe for these black bean burgers.  The taste is definitely there but texture needs some improvement.  But really, you barely need a recipe it’s so simple.  Mash up some black beans with whatever veggies you have lying around.  Mine have diced mushrooms & jalapenos mixed in with some chili sauce.  You don’t have to, but I use an egg to bind these together.  Form into patties & grill on a non-stick pan.

One thought on “Dinner in 3 Minutes..

  1. Pingback: Reducing Food Waste (& Your Grocery Bill) « Blissful Bites

Leave a Reply

